Profile last updated by: Sean Sweeny

Hiroshi Tanahashi

Title History


  • IWGP U-30 Open-Weight title defeating Shinya Makabe [Tournament] (April 23, 2003);
  • IWGP Tag Team titles w/Yutaka Yoshie defeating Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Masahiro Chono (June 13, 2003);
  • NOAH Global Honored Crowned Tag Team titles w/Yuji Nagata defeating Kenta Kobashi & Tamon Honda (November 30, 2003);
  • IWGP Tag Team titles w/Shinsuke Nakamura defeating Kensuke Sasaki & Minoru Suzuki for vacant titles (December 11, 2004);
  • IWGP U-30 Open-Weight title defeating Toru Yano [Tournament] (June 18, 2005);
  • IWGP Heavyweight title defeating Giant Bernard [Tournament] (July 17, 2006);
  • IWGP Heavyweight title defeating Yuji Nagata (October 8, 2007);
  • IWGP Heavyweight title defeating Manabu Nakanishi (June 20, 2009);


Career Highlights


  • January 15, 2006 – Final Resolution: AJ Styles defeated Hiroshi Tanahashi in an “International Showcase”..
  • ~~~Shannon Moore ran in with the Mr. TNA award and went to hit AJ Styles but accidentally hit Hiroshi Tanahashi!
  • January 28, 2006 – TNA Impact: Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Roderick Strong in a match taped for Xplosion..
  • January 31, 2006: Hiroshi Tanahashi signed a new contract with New Japan Pro Wrestling..
  • April 13, 2007: Yuji Nagata defeated Hiroshi Tanahashi to win the IWGP Heavyweight title in Osaka, Japan..
  • October 30, 2008 – TNA iMPACT: The Motor City Machine Guns (Chris Sabin & Alex Shelley) beat Hiroshi Tanahashi & Volador Jr.
  • November 6, 2008 – TNA iMPACT: Morgan/Abyss beat Team 3-D and LAX and Tanahashi/Volador in a 4-WAY Ladder match..
  • November 9, 2008 – TNA Turning Point: Eric Young won the X-Division Rankings Elimination Match against nine other wrestlers..
  • ~~~Consequences Creed-Jay Lethal-Sonjay Dutt-Homicide-Petey Williams-Jimmy Rave-Doug Williams-Volador-Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • February 15, 2009–New Japan: Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Shinsuke Nakamura in Tokyo, Japan at Sumo Hall..
  • April 5, 2009: Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Kurt Angle to retain the IWGP Heavyweight title at Sumo Hall in Japan..
  • June 20, 2009–NJPW: Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Manabu Nakanishi to win the IWGP Heavyweight title in Osaka.