Natural Born Thrillers


Title History

  • WCW world tag team championship (6 times) – Stasiak and Palumbo (3), O’Haire and Jindrak (2), Palumbo and O’Haire (1);
  • WCW cruiserweight championship (1 time) – Sanders;
  • WCW Hardcore championship (1 time) – Reno;

Career Highlights [courtesy in part of]

  • The Natural Born Thrillers were made up of seven young wrestlers, all from the WCW Power Plant. They were trained together by Paul Orndorff and WCW management decided to push them immediately.
  • The Thrillers were Mike Sanders who was the leader of the group, Chuck Palumbo, Sean O’Haire, Shawn Stasiak, Reno, Mark Jindrak and Johnny the Bull.  They became the enforcer group for Vince Russo and Eric Bischoff, replacing the Filthy Animals, who they quickly began feuding with.
  • Tension between the two teams quickly grew as the Thrillers attacked their former trainer, Paul Orndoff, and the Animals saved him.
  • At Fall Brawl, the Thrillers and the Animals had an elimination match.  After the Thrillers eliminated all but two members of the Animals, the match ended in a no-contest after Pail Orndoff legitimately injured himself attempting a piledriver.
  • The next night, the Thrillers faced off against the two survivors, Rey Misterio Jr. and Tygress, and lost.
  • The following week, Mark Jindrak and Sean O’Haire won a battle royal to win the WCW World Tag Team Championship.
  • Mike Sanders became the new WCW commissioner by defeating Ernest Miller, and he declared the WCW Hardcore Championship vacant. He set up a tournament to crown the new champion, which was won by Sgt. AWOL.
  • Mike Sanders, however, reversed the decision and the title was awarded to Reno.
  • In October, Mark Jindrak and Sean O’Haire lost the tag titles to Lt. Loco and Cpl. Cajun, but won them back the same night, when Sanders made an immediate rematch.
  • The Natural Born Thrillers were later “coached” by Kevin Nash, who helped Mike Sanders win the WCW Cruiserweight Championship in a Powerbomb match, after he powerbombed Elix Skipper.
  • The Thrillers later turned on Kevin Nash, however, and a handicap match with Sean O’Haire, Chuck Palumbo, and Shawn Stasiak, against Nash went to a no-contest.
  • Mark Jindrak and Sean O’Haire lost the Tag Team Championship to Boogie Knights on November 20, but the following week, Shawn Stasiak and Chuck Palumbo, as The Perfect Event, won the tag team titles from the Boogie Knights.
  • The Perfect Event feuded with Kevin Nash and his new partner, Diamond Dallas Page, who called themselves The Insiders.
  • At Mayhem, The Insiders won the Tag team Championships, but Mike Sanders later stripped them of the titles.
  • Mike Sanders lost the Cruiserweight Championship to Chavo Guerrero, Jr on December 6.
  • The following week, Mike Sanders set up a handicap match between Chavo Guerrero and the Perfect Event, which the Perfect Event won.
  • Mike Sanders also set up a three-way dance between the Insiders, Sean O’Haire and Mark Jindrak, and the Perfect Event, which the Perfect Event won.
  • At Starrcade, the Insiders beat the Perfect Event for the tag team Championships, despite Mark Jindrak and Sean O’Haire’s interference.
  • Mike Sanders then announced a tag team Battle Royal for the number one contendership to the tag team championships.
  • The final two teams in the battle royal were Mark Jindrak and Sean O’Haire, and the Perfect Event.  Mike Sanders declared both teams the winner, and announced that one member from each team would compete for the titles.
  • Chuck Palumbo and Sean O’Haire later won them in early January 2001, at Sin.
  • Also, at Sin, Mike Sanders lost the Commissioner position back to Ernest Miller, and was unable to regain it over the next few weeks.
  • By February 2001, the Thrillers had broken up. Tensions grew between the teams of Shawn Stasiak and Mark Jindrak, and Chuck Palumbo and Sean O’Haire.
  • Shawn Stasiak and Mark Jindrak demanded their shot at the tag team titles, and were given a title match at Superbrawl.
  • Sean O’Haire and Chuck Palumbo, however, retained the titles.
  • After the break-up, Sean O’Haire and Chuck Palumbo continued as a tag team, moving to the WWE after it had bought out WCW,while Shawn Stasiak and Mark Jindrak moved into singles competition.
  • Johnny the Bull reformed the Mamalukes with Big Vito, but neither Mark Jindrak or  Shawn Stasiak rose to much prominence after the Thrillers.