1. Home
  2. Indies
  3. Chris Masters and others to compete for the NWA Western States Championship


One of the stated goals of Vendetta Pro Wrestling joining the National Wrestling Alliance was to create an NWA Championship which represented the Western United States.

On Saturday, January 17th in Santa Maria, California, Vendetta Pro Wrestling presents the 2015 edition of “Reflexion”. That night, Vendetta Pro will host a tournament to crown the first NWA Western States Champion in over 25 years.

The first Western States Champion was crowned in 1952, as Tito Montez defeated Don Arnold in a Tournament Final held in El Paso, Texas.

The last Western States Champion–The NWA Western States Heritage Champion–was “The Living Legend” Larry Zbyszko, who won the title in January, 1988, defeating Barry Windham. The title was vacated and abandoned in January, 1989 by World Championship Wrestling.

On January 17th, eight of the top competitors in Professional Wrestling will meet in a one-night, single elimination tournament to crown a new Western States Heavyweight Champion. Already announced are Brian Kendrick, Chris Masters, Ricardo Rodriguez, and Matt Riviera who is managed by WWE Hall of Famer and former Manager of the Four Horsemen, James J. Dillon. Plus, at Winter Wonder Slam, Vendetta Pro Commissioner Joseph Duncan announced that former Vendetta Pro Heavyweight titleholders Rik Luxury and Billy Blade will face off against each other in the First Round.