American Wrestling Association (Old)


Promoter: Verne Gagne (Late 1950’s – 1991) / Dale Gagne (1996 – Present)
Territory: Minnesota
Verne Gagne
Billy Robinson
Ed Francis
Don Leo Jonathan
Wilbur Snyder
Dick the Bruiser
Andre The Giant
Red Bastien
Hercules Cortez
Mighty Igor
Hulk Hogan
Ricky Steamboat
Jimmy Snuka
Brad Rheingans
Ken Patera
Greg Gagne
Jim Brunzell
Crusher Blackwell
Road Warrior Animal
Road Warrior Hawk
Scott Hall
Shawn Michaels
Marty Jannetty
Rick Martel
Jerry Lawler
Bill Dundee
Robert Gibson
Ricky Morton
Johnny Stewart
Mike George
Mike Graham
Tom Zenk
The Trooper
Derrick Dukes
Ricky Rice
Leon White
Baron Von Raschke
Chavo Guerrero
Mando Guerrero
Hector Guerrero
Crusher Lisowski
Maurice Vachon
Paul Vachon
Dr. X (Dick Beyer)
Gene Kiniski
Dr. Moto (Tor Kamata)
Mitsu Arakawa
Pat Patterson
Ray Stevens
Nick Bockwinkel
Larry Hennig
Harley Race
Ole Anderson
Larry Zbyszko
Jesse Ventura
Adrian Adonis
Cowboy Bob Orton
Ric Flair
Billy Graham
David Schultz
The Iron Sheik
Bruiser Brody
Jim Garvin
Steve Regal
Mr. Saito
Riki Chosyu
Col. Debeers
Buddy Rose
Doug Somers
Pat Tanaka
Paul Diamond
Curt Hennig
Otto Wanz
Stan Hansen
Jim Backlund
The Terrorist
The Mercenary
Brian Knobbs
Jerry Sags
Soldat Ustinov
Teijo Khan
Bobby Heenan
Alfred Hayes
Paul Ellering
Diamond Dallas Page
Paul Dangerously
Adnan Al Kaissey
Johnny Valiant

Lord Littlebrook
Little Tokyo
Cowboy Lang
Little Mr. T
Joyce Grable
Penny Banner
Vivian Vachon
Candy Devine
Wendi Richter
Velvet McIntyre
Sherri Martel
Madusa Micelli

Gene Okerland
Ken Resnick
The Crusher and The Bruiser
The Road Warriors (Hawk and Animal)
The Midnight Rockers (Shawn Michaels and Marty Jannetty)
Scott Hall and Curt Hennig
Jerry Lawler and Bill Dundee
The High Flyers (Greg Gagne and Jim Brunzel)
The Olympians (Ken Patera and Brad Rheingans)
Larry Hennig and Harley Race
The Vachon Brothers (Butcher Vachon and Maddog Vachon)
Pat Patterson and Ray Stevens
The Heenan Family (Led by Bobby Heenan)
The Midnight Express (Dennis Condrey and Randy Rose)
Bad Company (Pat Tanaka and Paul Diamond)
Buddy Rose and Doug Somors
The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs and Jerry Sags)
Destruction Crew (Mike Enos and Wayne Bloom)

Standing (Back Row): Otto Wanz, Hulk Hogan, Gary DeRusha, Jim Brunzell, Rick Martel, Andre The Giant, Maddog Vachon, Blackjack Lanza, Ken Patera, David Schultz, Sheik Adnan, Ken Resnick, Gene Okerland, Billy Graham, Jerry Blackwell, and Bobby Heenan
Kneeling (Front Row): Verne Gagne, Billy Robinson, Buck Zumhoff, Greg Gagne, Steve O, and Mr. Saito

  • Verne Gagne took an increasing interest in the management of the AWA, and eventually became the sole shareholder.
  • The AWA was picked up by ESPN and Verne Gagne promoted and ran events from New York to California and more.
  • ~~~As well as live international events in Canada, Mexico, Europe, and the Middle East.
  • The AWA was the catalyst for many great stars like;
  • ~~~Hulk Hogan, Ric Flair, Ricky Steamboat, Curt Hennig, Jesse Ventura, Jimmy Snuka, DDP, Andre and many more!
  • AWA referees included; Joe Snyder, “Iron Duke” Jim Mitchell, Steve “O” Olsonoski, Khosrow Vaziri, Jack Pesek, Buddy Lane, Jerry Sagonovich, Larry Lisowski, Scott Ladeaux, Gary DeRusha, Marty Miller, George Gadaski, Doug Gilbert, Tom “Rocky” Stone, Mike Enos, Evan Johnson.

Go Back To AWA Promotions