WWE Royal Rumble Stats & Records

Over the Top: WWE Royal Rumble Stats & Records


The 30th WWE Royal Rumble will take place on January 28, 2018. The Royal Rumble has consistently been one of the WWE’s top events, highlighted by the 30-person rumble match, which consists of wrestlers eliminating one another by tossing them over the top rope until only one remains. The match typically serves as the main event at its respective event, with the winner earning a WWE title shot at Wrestlemania.

Over the past 30 years, the Royal Rumble has seen it all. Around 900 wrestlers have entered the ring and gone over the top rope to be eliminated. The match has provided big boost for up-and-coming faces and established Superstars alike. Wrestlers like Shawn Michaels and Stone Cold Steve Austin became fan favorites and champions after their rumble victories while someone like Hulk Hogan confirmed his dominance in being the first competitor to win the match in consecutive years.

Over the years, several stats have piled up. Records have been set and broken. Below, we’ve created an infographic featuring every Royal Rumble winner along with stats, records, and other trivia. Take a look and find out where your favorite Superstars land in Royal Rumble history.

Highlights and Heroes

Regardless of whether or not they capture championship gold at WrestleMania, the Royal Rumble winners join a list of “who’s who” among WWE Legends and Hall of Fame inductees. Here is the complete list of Royal Rumble winners by year, including their entry number and the result of their match at that year’s WrestleMania:

1988 Hacksaw Jim Duggan 13 L vs Ted DiBiase
1989 Big John Studd 27 No Match
1990 Hulk Hogan (WWE Champion) 25 L vs The Ultimate Warrior (Intercontinental Champion)
Lost WWE Championship
1991 Hulk Hogan 24 W vs Sgt. Slaughter
Won WWE Championship
1992 Ric Flair
Won WWE Championship
3 L vs Macho Man Randy Savage
Lost WWE Championship
1993 Yokozuna 27 W vs Bret Hart (WWE Champion)
Won WWE Championship
L vs Hulk Hogan
Lost WWE Championship
1994 Lex Luger 23 L vs Yokozuna (WWE Champion)
Bret Hart 27 L vs Owen Hart
W vs Yokozuna (WWE Champion)
Won WWE Championship
1995 Shawn Michaels 1 L vs Diesel (WWE Champion)
1996 Shawn Michaels 18 W vs Bret Hart (WWE Champion)
Won WWE Championship
1997 Stone Cold Steve Austin 5 L vs Bret Hart
1998 Stone Cold Steve Austin 24 W vs Shawn Michaels (WWE Champion)
Won WWE Championship
1999 Vince McMahon 2 No Match
2000 The Rock 24 L vs Triple H (WWE Champion), Mick Foley, Big Show
2001 Stone Cold Steve Austin 27 W vs The Rock (WWE Champion)
Won WWE Championship
2002 Triple H 22 W vs Chris Jericho (WWE Champion)
Won WWE Championship
2003 Brock Lesnar 29 W vs Kurt Angle (WWE Champion)
Won WWE Championship
2004 Chris Benoit 1 W vs Triple H (World Heavyweight Champion), Shawn Michaels
Won World Heavyweight Championship
2005 Batista 28 W vs Triple H (World Heavyweight Champion)
Won World Heavyweight Championship
2006 Rey Mysterio 2 W vs Kurt Angle (World Heavyweight Champion), Randy Orton
Won World Heavyweight Championship
2007 The Undertaker 30 W vs Batista (World Heavyweight Champion)
Won World Heavyweight Championship
2008 John Cena 30 L vs Randy Orton (WWE Champion), Triple H
2009 Randy Orton 8 L vs Triple H (WWE Champion)
2010 Edge 29 L vs Chris Jericho (World Heavyweight Champion)
2011 Alberto Del Rio 38 L vs Edge (World Heavyweight Champion)
2012 Sheamus 22 W vs Daniel Bryan (World Heavyweight Champion)
Won World Heavyweight Championship
2013 John Cena 19 W vs The Rock (WWE Champion)
Won WWE Championship
2014 Batista 28 L vs Daniel Bryan, Randy Orton (WWE World Heavyweight Champion)
2015 Roman Reigns 19 L vs Seth Rollins, Brock Lesnar (WWE World Heavyweight Champion)
2016 Triple H 30 L vs Roman Reigns (WWE World Heavyweight Champion)
2017 Randy Orton 23 W vs Bray Wyatt (WWE Champion)           Won WWE Championship

There’s no telling what kind of mayhem this year’s Royal Rumble will bring. What kind of surprise entries will we see? Who will be the last man standing? While it’s sure to be an exciting match, we’ll also be seeing something new as well. For the first time ever, an all-women rumble match as been announced for the event. If all this wrestling information has inspired you to throw on some spandex and step into the ring, you can check out our full selection of WWE costumes and be ready to rumble in no time!

Infographic designed by Jacob Kuddes and originally published on our blog in January of 2015. It has been updated in January 2018 by Travis Green.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login