1. Home
  2. Information
  3. History of the Chain Match

History of the Chain Match

Chain matchIn a Chain Match the wrestlers are chained by their wrists at opposite ends of a chain. The restraint, and anything tied to it, can be used as a legal weapon. Because the restraint can be used as a way to choke the opposing wrestler, submissions are typically not permitted. A disqualification occurs if either wrestler frees themselves from the restraint before the match is won. There are often two ways to win: pinfall is permitted, or alternately, the first to touch all four top turnbuckles in succession wins. (Courtesy in part of prowrestling.wikia.com)

Date Event Winner Loser
1971 Phoenix Tito Montez Jody Arnold
1980 NWA Junk Yard Dog Michael Hayes Starrcade (cage match)
1980 Phoenix David Rose Lumberjack #1
1980 Phoenix David Rose John Ringer
1981 Phoenix David Rose Lumberjack #1
11/24/1983 NWA Roddy Piper Greg Valentine Starrcade
07/06/1985 NWA Jimmy Valiant Paul Jones Great American Bash
1988 AWA Wahoo McDaniel Manny Fernandez Super Clash III
09/07/1988 NWA Ricky Morton Ivan Koloff Clash of the Champions
1989 Phoenix Billy Anderson Tim Patterson
1991 Phoenix Billy Anderson John Ringer
1993 ECW Eddie Gilbert Terry Funk Summer Slizzin’ Series
05/26/1996 WWF Savio Vega Steve Austin In Your House 8
05/20/2001 WWF Kane Triple H Judgement Day 2001
10/19/2003 WWE Brock Lesnar Undertaker No Mercy
10/19/2004 WWE Gene Snitsky Kane Taboo Tuesday
07/17/2005 TNA Raven Abyss No Surrender
11/17/2005 CSW Payday Patterson Michael Strider
02/11/2007 TNA A.J. Styles Rhino Against All Odds
10/28/2010 TNA Jeff Jarrett Matt Morgan TNA IMPACT

Go Back To Special Matches