Rampage Pro Wrestling joins the NWA

Warner Robins, GA- Dr. Johnny Gayton announces that Rampage Pro Wrestling (RPW) recently joined the National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) as an Associate Member. All RPW events and television shows will be sanctioned by the NWA.  Dr. Gayton said “I am pleased to have Rampage Pro Wrestling as part of the NWA, a legendary organization that has a storied history in Middle Georgia. I am convinced that this partnership will be good for the fans and wrestlers of RPW and facilitate the resurgence of the NWA in Middle Georgia.”

Legendary wrestling announcer and Hall of Fame member, Gordon Solie, regularly reminded viewers that Georgia Championship Wrestling on WTCG/WTBS was “sanctioned by the National Wrestling Alliance, the oldest and largest sanctioning body in professional wrestling.”  The NWA formed in 1948 and is celebrating its 63rd year with members throughout the United States, Mexico, Canada, Australia, and Japan.   For several years Total Non-Stop Wrestling (TNA) was sanctioned by the NWA.  Many wrestling fans will recall NWA events at the Macon City Auditorium and the Macon Coliseum where the NWA Macon Heavyweight and NWA Macon Tag Team titles were defended as well as other major NWA titles.  Cyclone & Roberto Soto won the NWA Macon Tag Team Titles in 1969 and Buddy Colt became the 1st NWA Macon Heavyweight Champion in 1970.  Other wrestling stars who defended NWA titles in middle Georgia included Mr. Wrestling 1 & 2, Ole & Gene Anderson, “Hands of Stone” Ronnie Garvin, Rocky Johnson (the father of WWE superstar the Rock), Jerry Lawler, Abdullah the Butcher, the Road Warriors, El Mongol, and many more.  The NWA World Championship has been held by many superstars including Dusty Rhodes, Ric Flair, Jack Brisco, Dory Funk, Jr., Harley Race, Lou Thesz, Tommy Rich,  AJ Styles, Jeff Jarrett, Raven and current 3 time champion, Adam Pearce

Bill Behrens, a current NWA Director and a past NWA President, is currently one of the hosts of RPW’s highly rated weekly television show. He shares those duties with well known Georgia wrestling personality, Ben Masters. Behrens feels very strongly that “RPW is a great addition to the NWA family.  It’s a strong, well run promotion, very fan friendly with a great crew of wrestlers.”  The RPW roster includes former NWA World Junior Champion & TNA star – Jimmy Rave, former WWE & Japan star – Bull Buchanan, RPW Heavyweight Champion – J Rod, RPW Tag Team Champions – The Usual Suspects, RPW TV Champion – Jeremy Vain, Kyle Matthews, Mike Posey, Corey Hollis, Cru Jones, Shawn Banks, Doc Gayton and many more.  Current NWA World Tag Team Champions, The Dark City Fight Club, have already defended their titles twice in RPW, and they will return soon. RPW also plans to bring in the NWA World Heavyweight Champion.  “Wrestling fans have many reasons to be excited with RPW bringing the NWA back to Middle Georgia”, added Behrens.

Rampage Pro Wrestling promotes and produces its weekly TV from Johnny G’s in Warner Robins, GA on the 1st, 3rd & 5th Saturdays of each month with a 7PM belltime.  The RPW one hour TV shows airs in Middle Georgia on Fox 24 each Saturday morning at 9 and on Cox Communications channel 11 on Thursdays at 8PM on Saturdays at noon. It is also seen on My41.2 each week.  The half hour Rewind program can be seen on Cox Communications 11 M, W, & F  5PM  Fri & Sat 11:30PM & on My41  Sat noon.  Fans can also watch the one hour program and find out more about Rampage Pro Wrestling at www.rampageprowrestling.net.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login